The idea of ​​establishing community colleges came in the context of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research policies to provide new educational opportunities for the community away from the previous conventional institutions of higher education. It features the framework of Higher Education community colleges objectives. The idea is also founded on the basis of scientific and Dawah (missionary) responsibility of the University of the Holy Quran and Islamic Sciences as well as it coincides with its foundation targets of endeavoring for the intellectual, scientific, cultural, social and economic development of the country.

   The Dawah, social, cultural, training, qualifying and skills development programs come at the forefront of the university programs priorities. They are considered to be effective factors in causing cultural change, skills development and acquisition of knowledge and experience. Therefore, since its establishment, the university has planned to serve the different classes of the community at their various positions through a wide range of cultural, educational and training programs. This has been implemented this through the establishment of branches, institutes and centers in the states to offer the University’s scientific, technical, and financial potentials for the service of the community. Finally, the matter settled on regulating these programs under the umbrella of a scientific and specialist institution ‘the Faculty of Community’ and accordingly branches and centers were established for it in the states.


The Faculty of Community was founded in 2005 to be one of the university academic units to serve the community in  areas of Dawah, training and skills development.

The Faculty comprises eight state branches and eleven Quran teaching and memorization centers for females.