Before 1990, the department of financial affairs was comprised of two accounting units at the Faculty of the Holy Quran and Al Ma’had Al Ilmi (the Scientific Institute). Post the Revolution of Higher Education, the two academic institutions were merged into a single body named the University of the Holy Quran and Islamic Sciences; and thus the two units have come to form the current financial Administration.